Linode.com Forum Forum Index Linode.com Forum
Linode Community Forums
 


spam blocklist

Click here to go to the original topic
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
       Linode.com Forum Forum Index -> Feature Request/Bug Report
Author Message
mlc



Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 6
Location: New York, NY, US

Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 5:25 pm    Post subject: spam blocklist  

I noticed that the Linode IP range is now being blocked by proxies.relays.monkeys.com and some other DNSBLs... what gives?
Back to top  
caker



Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 2386
Location: Galloway, NJ

Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 5:57 pm    Post subject:  

I just poked around a few lists and didn't come up with much. Can you either post here, or email me (service@linode.com) some of the IPs you found and in which blacklists?

-Chris
Back to top  
mlc



Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 6
Location: New York, NY, US

Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 6:20 pm    Post subject:  

mlc@pinetree:~$ dnstxt 76.53.5.64.proxies.relays.monkeys.com
BLOCKED: See http://www.monkeys.com/phl/listed.html
mlc@pinetree:~$ dnstxt 6.53.5.64.proxies.relays.monkeys.com
BLOCKED: See http://www.monkeys.com/phl/listed.html
Back to top  
caker



Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 2386
Location: Galloway, NJ

Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 7:09 pm    Post subject:  

Monkey.com's "Proxy Hijackers List" contains what looks to me like all of ThePlanet's IP ranges (or at least a VERY sizeable chunk):

Code: 12.96.160.0/21 theplanet.com
12.156.0.0/21 theplanet.com
64.5.32.0/20 theplanet.com
64.5.48.0/20 theplanet.com
64.46.160.0/19 theplanet.com
65.247.184.0/21 theplanet.com
66.28.25.0/24 theplanet.com
66.28.26.0/24 theplanet.com
66.28.110.0/24 theplanet.com
66.28.111.0/24 theplanet.com
66.28.113.0/24 theplanet.com
66.250.65.0/24 theplanet.com
69.41.224.0/20 theplanet.com
69.56.128.0/18 theplanet.com
209.223.234.0/23 theplanet.com
216.88.118.0/23 theplanet.com
216.185.96.0/19 theplanet.com
216.234.224.0/19 theplanet.com


This must be a mistake! I've contacted ThePlanet regarding this and we'll work it out...

-Chris
Back to top  
poganin



Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 4

Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 8:43 pm    Post subject:  

caker wrote:
This must be a mistake! I've contacted ThePlanet regarding this and we'll work it out...
-Chris

Since my email server is being rejected by SBC and NEXTEL I just wanted to ask what is the status on this "spam situation?

Mariusz
Back to top  
poganin



Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 4

Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 8:56 pm    Post subject:  

mlc wrote: mlc@pinetree:~$ dnstxt 76.53.5.64.proxies.relays.monkeys.com
BLOCKED: See http://www.monkeys.com/phl/listed.html
mlc@pinetree:~$ dnstxt 6.53.5.64.proxies.relays.monkeys.com
BLOCKED: See http://www.monkeys.com/phl/listed.html

You can also try http://www.spews.org .

Mariusz
Back to top  
rhashimoto



Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 55

Posted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 11:26 pm    Post subject:  

poganin wrote:
Since my email server is being rejected by SBC and NEXTEL I just wanted to ask what is the status on this "spam situation?


I believe monkeys.com is no longer an active blocklist, having been shut down by massive DOS attacks. See http://yro.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=03/09/24/132216&mode=thread&tid=111&tid=126&tid=95

I had an email connectivity problem that I thought was due to a blocklist but turned out (via a suggestion from Chris) to be the ECN issue. See http://www.linode.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=371

Roy
Back to top  
poganin



Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 4

Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 6:25 am    Post subject:  

[quote="rhashimoto"] poganin wrote:
I had an email connectivity problem that I thought was due to a blocklist but turned out (via a suggestion from Chris) to be the ECN issue. See http://www.linode.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=371
Roy

Thanks!
This solved problem with Nextel but still SBC is rejecting my emails with "553 5.3.0 DNSBL:to request removal, please send an E-mail to abuse@prodigy.net".

telnet mta1.snet.net 25

Trying 204.60.203.70...
Connected to mta1.snet.net.
Escape character is '^]'.
220 mta1.snet.net ESMTP Sendmail 8.12.9/8.12.9; Fri, 3 Oct 2003 07:19:45 -0400 (EDT)
ehlo me
553 5.3.0 DNSBL:to request removal,please send an E-mail to abuse@prodigy.net


Of course abuse@prodigy.net is not responding to my emails ;-(

Mariusz
Back to top  
rhashimoto



Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 55

Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 1:23 pm    Post subject:  

poganin wrote:
telnet mta1.snet.net 25


My linode IP isn't blocked by this server. Try checking if the reverse DNS on your IP is correct - mail servers can be set to reject hosts without valid reverse DNS. I just tried the reversing one of the IPs mentioned earlier in this thread, 64.5.53.6, which reversed to host1.lindoe.com [sic]. This can be enough to be refused by a server with a lot of security activated.
Back to top  
caker



Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 2386
Location: Galloway, NJ

Posted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 2:42 pm    Post subject:  

I just fixed the typo for the reverse of 64.5.53.6/host1.linode.com (thanks, btw) -- linode traffic shouldn't be going through 64.5.53.6 regardless, so I'm not sure that specific typo would have caused trouble... But, mail servers will reject mail giving one reason, even though the real reason might have been unrelated.

-Chris
Back to top  
jp



Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 70

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 4:58 am    Post subject:  

Hi there.

What's the status of the SPEWS situation?

http://spews.org/html/S2857.html

Any news?
Back to top  
chernesk



Joined: 20 Dec 2003
Posts: 3

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 11:49 am    Post subject: Unfortunately, same here...  

Any luck with this situation?

http://www.spews.org/html/S2100.html
Back to top  
caker



Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 2386
Location: Galloway, NJ

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 1:30 pm    Post subject:  

I've made noise with both ThePlanet and Hurricane Electric regarding their spews status. I don't know what they've done about either situation.

In my experience with both providers, they aren't tolerant to spammers at all. In fact, I've seen both companies be extremely responsive to abuse notices.

I'm not sure what more I can do about either situation (suggestions?). I know most sensible ISPs don't use SPEWS, because they pull stuff like this (adding a providers entire IP blocks), and tend to block more legitimate email than spam.

I'm open to suggestions.

-Chris
Back to top  
chernesk



Joined: 20 Dec 2003
Posts: 3

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 1:38 pm    Post subject: Thanks...  

Chris,

Thanks for looking into this and raising the issue with the providers. I appreciate your activity on our behalf. It's just frusterating, that's all.

I haven't been notified by too many people that my mail has been blocked, so I'm not totally affected by it right now, it was just interesting (and a little unnerving) seeing my IP show up there.

Thanks for all that you do to take care of us here! ;-) It's an awesome place to "live".

-Chris
Back to top  
jstarks



Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 11

Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2004 5:02 pm    Post subject:  

http://openrbl.org/#66.220.1.180

Any word from HE on the RBL issue? I know SPEWS is crap (as is BLARS, by the looks of it), but some people use it.
Back to top  
 
       Linode.com Forum Forum Index -> Feature Request/Bug Report Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2