Disk Performance and being limited with Io token_refill

so bare with me… I'm just learning about this IO limits function of UML.

This all came to my attention when our linode on server host6 seemed to suffer from lack of being able to get to disk. After digging around the forums it appears that I'm not the only person seeing this issue and it seems that linodes can have different Tokenrefill and tokenmax values.

I've read that some people can have a token_refill=100 for being a hassle and using too much IO … then later to have it set to a higher limit after someone deeming it appropriate to do so. Did this happen to me? If so… no big deal… but I want to avoid having issues with Disk IO and if I need to change something, knowing that I have been a problem with Disk IO, would help me understand that I have an issue that needs further attention..

My linode at this time shows this, which shows that it’s a lower amount then other linodes. (Again I don’t know anything about this stuff… so lower numbers could be indeed better… who knows!!?)

> iocount=888185 iorate=0 iotokens=19989 tokenrefill=100 token_max=20000

I guess I have 2 more questions.

1. How does it get decided what values are used for our linode?

2. How do I know that I've surpassed “appropriate" disk IO usage?

Thanks for any light you could shed on this.

Doubleg

4 Replies

@doubleg:

so bare with me… I'm just learning about this IO limits function of UML.
More info here: http://www.theshore.net/~caker/patches/

@doubleg:

This all came to my attention when our linode on server host6 seemed to suffer from lack of being able to get to disk. After digging around the forums it appears that I'm not the only person seeing this issue and it seems that linodes can have different Tokenrefill and tokenmax values.