跳到主要内容

稳定点

代码的工艺
稳定点

用NVMe解决存储问题



小公司在管理其网络基础设施时往往有很大的挑战。可信赖的服务提供商可以介入并支持繁琐、耗时或不经常的管理任务,如电子邮件账户维护、配置新的物理资源和存储管理。

Stablepoint通过提供快速和可靠的管理云基础设施解决方案来满足面临这些和其他挑战的客户的需求。选择公共云给小公司带来了灵活性,使他们能够在控制成本的同时扩大或缩小规模。这家位于英国伦敦的托管公司部署了自己的软件栈,专注于托管环境和设置,而不是基础硬件。 

"低延迟是游戏的名称,"Stablepoint的创始人兼首席技术官Dom Taylor分享道。"我们已经投资创建了一个可扩展的全球管理托管平台,分布在英国和全球80个地点的服务器上。虽然我们使用所有主要的和替代的公共云供应商,但与Linode的NVMe是一个大变化,使我们能够以比任何竞争对手低得多的价格为我们的客户打好基础。"

当Stablepoint在2019年推出时,AWS 和谷歌云是许多管理托管供应商的首选供应商。像Stablepoint这样的公司很快发现,对于需要存储大量小文件的成本敏感型客户来说,用超大规模的存储配置是成本高昂的。

不仅存储配置的成本过高,而且他们还花费了太多的时间来配置所需的存储,以获得必要的性能。存储的正常运行时间显示出它是一个更大的问题。传统的块存储可能很慢,因为它是由旋转的硬盘驱动器支持的。使用本地存储的虚拟机是一个单点故障,而且是最大的故障点。根据需要在服务器之间移动的能力是至关重要的,因为在管理小文件时,一致、可靠的性能是至关重要的。 

NVME:高性能存储满足最大的存储需求

Linode的NVMe块存储是对这些挑战的回答,与传统的旋转硬盘驱动器相比,它的吞吐量增加了10倍到20倍,IOPS增加了2000倍。Dom回忆说,有一次,Stablepoint的一个客户在另一个供应商的物理服务器上设置,结果失败了。整个系统被恢复到使用NVMe存储的Linode,事实证明它更可靠和灵活。

虽然Stablepoint与所有的超大规模公司和替代性云供应商合作,但通常基于现有的客户关系,Linode现在是其增长最快的云供应商,也是最适合基于延迟的使用案例。

Stablepoint转移到Linode NVMe的许多存储服务器都来自于有一个大型物理阵列的系统,这是一个单点故障:如果它发生故障,客户的业务也会发生故障。Stablepoint利用Linode NVMe将这些数据分割成两个或三个块存储卷,Linode NVMe具有内置冗余和静态数据加密功能。这种随需应变的灵活性对Stablepoint的客户来说是非常好的。Linode有额外的存储准备,可按需配置。

Stablepoint依靠其他Linode服务和NVMe块存储在几乎每个Linode数据中心运行。它提供多种专用CPU类型,并发现Linode主机与EPYC™ CPU的性价比无与伦比。"Dom说:"在节省成本的情况下使用共享计算,在需要更多稳定性的情况下使用专用计算,这是一个很大的好处。

"Linode的API ,也很不错,"Dom继续说。"防火墙也非常灵活。其他替代性的云计算供应商只是没有提供Linode提供的所有部件。Linode拥有所有的构件,而我们的团队拥有人才和最佳实践,可以将其整合在一起,建立一个完整的工作系统"。

分享这个

Skip to main content

Stablepoint

Craft of Code
Stablepoint

Solving Storage Problems with NVMe


Small companies often have big challenges when it comes to managing their network infrastructure. Trusted service providers can step in and support tedious, time-consuming, or infrequent management tasks like email account maintenance, provisioning new physical resources, and storage management.

Stablepoint meets the needs of its customers facing these and other challenges by offering fast and reliable managed cloud infrastructure solutions. Opting for the public cloud brings flexibility to small companies, allowing them to scale up or down while keeping costs under control. The managed hosting company based in London, England, deploys its own software stack, focusing on the hosting environment and setup rather than the underlying hardware. 

“Low latency is the name of the game,” Stablepoint’s founder and CTO Dom Taylor shared. “We have invested in creating a scalable, global managed hosting platform spread across servers in 80 locations across the United Kingdom and worldwide. And although we use all major and alternative public cloud providers, NVMe with Linode is the big change that enables us to hit the mark for our customers at a significantly lower price than any of our competitors.”

When Stablepoint launched in 2019, AWS and Google Cloud were the providers of choice for many managed hosting providers. Companies like Stablepoint quickly discovered that storage provisioning with hyperscalers was cost-prohibitive for their cost-sensitive customers that needed to store a lot of small files.

Not only was storage provisioning cost-prohibitive, but they were also spending too much time provisioning the storage required to get the necessary performance. Storage uptime revealed itself as an even bigger issue. Traditional block storage can be slow because it’s backed by spinning hard disk drives. Using VMs with local storage presented a single point of failure—and the biggest point of failure. The ability to move between servers as needed was crucial because consistent, reliable performance in managing small files is critical. 

NVME: High-performing storage for the greatest storage demand

NVMe block storage from Linode was the answer to these challenges providing a significant improvement over traditional spinning hard disk drives with a 10x-20x increase in throughput and up to 2000x improvement in IOPS. Dom recalled a time when Stablepoint had a client set up on a physical server with another provider, and it failed. The whole system was restored to Linode using NVMe storage, proving to be much more reliable and flexible.

Although Stablepoint works with all of the hyperscalers and alternative cloud providers based often on existing customer relationships, Linode is now its fastest-growing cloud provider and the best fit forlatency-based use cases.

Many of the storage servers Stablepoint moves to Linode NVMe are from systems with one big, physical array, which is one single point of failure: If it goes down, so does the customer’s business. Stablepoint splits these up into two or three block storage volumes with Linode NVMe, which has built-in redundancy and data encryption at rest. The on-demand flexibility is great for Stablepoint’s customers. Linode has additional storage ready for provisioning on demand.

Stablepoint runs in almost every Linode data center, relying on other Linode services and NVMe block storage. It provisions many dedicated CPU types and finds the price-performance of Linode’s hosts with the EPYC2 CPUs unbeatable. “It’s a big benefit to use shared compute when it makes sense to save, but also dedicated when more stability is needed,” said Dom.

“Linode’s API is great, too,” Dom continued. “The firewalls are also very flexible. Other alternative cloud providers just don’t offer all the pieces Linode offers. Linode has all the building blocks, and our team has the talent and best practices to put it all together and build a whole working system.”

Share This