Resizing a Linode

Updated by Linode Written by Linode

Contribute on GitHub

Report an Issue | View File | Edit File

We make it easy to upgrade or downgrade your Linode by changing plans and adding additional resources. If you’re expecting a temporary burst of traffic to your website, or if you’re not using your Linode as much as you thought, you can temporarily or permanently resize your Linode to a different plan.

Resizing a Linode

Note
Linodes can be resized to a smaller or larger plan. A standard plan can also be converted to a high memory plan, or vice versa.

Resizing Your Linode

You can move your Linode from one plan to another by using the resize feature. To complete the resizing process, your Linode will be powered off and migrated to a different host in the same data center. Your data, configuration profiles, and IP addresses will all be moved to the new host. Please note that the migration will take approximately 1 minute for every 3-5 gigabytes of data.

Note
If you’re downgrading your plan, verify that your disks are using less space than the new plan provides. For more information, see our documentation on resizing a disk.

Here’s how to resize your Linode:

  1. Log in to the Linode Manager.
  2. Click the Linodes link in the sidebar.
  3. Select a Linode from the list.
  4. Click the Resize tab. The webpage shown below appears.

    The Linode resize page.

  5. Select a plan and click the Submit button. Your Linode will be powered off and moved to another host. Depending on the size of your Linode, this process can take up to one hour.

    Your Linode’s main disk will automatically be resized if the following two criteria are met:

    1. The destination plan has a larger amount of disk space than the current plan. For example, if you are upgrading from a 2 GB to a 4 GB Linode plan.
    2. The Linode’s disk configuration is simple:
      • 1 disk of type ext 4 or ext 3 and 1 disk of type swap OR
      • 1 disk of type ext 4 or ext 3

    If your Linode does not fulfill the above criteria, you will have to manually reallocate un-used storage to your disks, if desired. See the following step for instructions.

  6. (Optional) When the migration completes, check your disk storage allocation meter. If you resized your Linode to a larger plan and the main disk was not automatically resized, you’ll have additional un-used storage to allocate to your disks. You may want to add some of this storage to one of your disks if the internal filesystem on it is running low on free space, or just so you can use it in the future.

    Navigate to your Linode’s Settings tab and expand the Advanced Configurations section to view your disk storage allocation meter. Click on the more options link (…) next to the disk you’d like to allocate the extra storage to and select Resize.

    View your disk storage allocator.

    The Resize Disk panel will appear. In the Size field, enter a new size in the specified range and click Resize.

    Resize your disk.

  7. Once completed, your Linode will still be powered off. Scroll to the top of the page and click on the Offline button and select Power On.

Your Linode has been successfully resized and migrated to the new host.

Join our Community

Find answers, ask questions, and help others.

comments powered by Disqus

This guide is published under a CC BY-ND 4.0 license.