Guides - Detach a Linode From Your VLAN

Linode’s VLANs (Virtual Local Area Networks) feature allows you to create private L2 networks in the cloud where Linodes can communicate privately and securely. Two or more Linodes connected via the VLAN can see each other as if they were directly connected to the same physical Ethernet network.

If the Linode no longer requires access a VLAN’s private network, the VLAN can be detached by editing the Linode’s Configuration Profile

  1. Log in to the Linode Cloud Manager.

  2. Click the Linodes link in the sidebar and select a Linode.

  3. Within the Linode’s detail page, navigate to the Configurations tab.

  4. Select the Edit button next to the configuration profile you’d like to edit.

  5. Scroll down to the Network Interfaces section.

  6. Locate the network interface corresponding to the VLAN you wish to remove. From that interface’s drop down menu, select None to detach the VLAN from this Linode. If no other network interface is set to Public Interface, that option may also be selected to provide public internet access to this Linode.

  7. Click on the Edit Configuration button to confirm the changes to the configuration profile.

  8. Reboot the Linode to save your changes and completely remove the VLAN configuration. Linodes that have had their configuration profiles updated but have not been rebooted will still be configured to use the VLAN. A reboot is required for any change to take place.

    Note
    If a VLAN is not applied to any Linode service, it will automatically be deleted.

This page was originally published on