Guides - Cancel Your Account
A Linode account enables you to deploy and use services on the Linode Platform. If you no longer wish to use the Linode Platform, you can cancel your account at any time. When you cancel your account, any past due balance and uninvoiced balance remaining on your account is immediately charged to the default payment method on file, minus any remaining account credits.
You do not have to cancel your account to prevent recurring charges. Instead, you can remove all services from your account via the Cloud Manager, Linode API, or Linode CLI. This allows you to retain your Linode account if you intend to use it in the future. See Removing Services for more information.
- Log into Cloud Manager.
- Click the Account link in the sidebar.
- Click the Settings tab.
- Under the Close Account panel, click the Close Account button.
- A confirmation form appears. Enter your Linode username in the first field and optionally enter any comments you’d like to leave in the second field. Any refund requests can be entered here as well. See the Refunds section of the Billing guide.
- Click the Close Account button to complete your account cancellation. Any past due balance and uninvoiced balance is immediately charged to the credit card on file for your account. After that, you will receive no further charges from Linode regarding this account.
After following these instructions, all of your services are immediately marked for deletion and your account is immediately cancelled. You are no longer able to log in through the Cloud Manager.
This page was originally published on