Guides - Detach a Block Storage Volume from a Linode

Updated , by Linode

Linode’s Block Storage service lets you increase your Linode’s storage capacity by attaching additional high-speed volumes. Volumes are managed independently of Linodes, so your data persists even if you delete your Linode.

Follow these steps to safely detach a Block Storage Volume from a Linode. A Volume should be detached before it is reattached to a different Linode:

  1. Go to the detail page page of the Linode which the Volume is attached to. Shut down the Linode.

  2. When the Linode is powered off, click on the Volumes tab, click the more options ellipsis next to the Volume you would like to detach, then click Detach.

  3. A confirmation screen appears and explains that the Volume will be detached from the Linode. Click Detach to confirm:

    The Linode’s dashboard does not show the Volume present anymore:

    The Volume still exists on your account and you can see it if you view the Volumes page:

Caution

If a volume is currently mounted, detaching it while the Linode is powered on could cause data loss or an unexpected reboot. You can unmount the volume for safe live-detaching using the umount command:

umount /dev/disk/by-id/scsi-0Linode_Volume_BlockStorage1

To avoid additional issues with your Linode, remove the detached volume’s line from your /etc/fstab/ configuration:

FILE_SYSTEM_PATH /mnt/BlockStorage1 ext4 defaults 0 2

This page was originally published on