Suggestion - confirm on delete of Linode

When you resize a Linode, you're asked to confirm the action by typing the name of the Linode, a good idea.

However, you can delete a Linode with just a single 'are you sure' prompt. As deletion is potentially a lot more serious than resizing, I suggest adding the typing prompt there too. Perhaps you could type 'delete [linodename]'. You could say there's a false sense of security by having the prompt for the less serious action but not the more.

Yes, this suggestion does come from me accidentally deleting a Linode. Luckily it was a test machine, not a live one, which would have been absolutely catastrophic.

I pressed 'delete' rather than 'power off' from the three dots dropdown menu, then ok'd the prompt without reading, as one often does. The prompt and UI itself is good, but I was tired at the time - so my fault you would think but I'd be surprised if no one else has ever done this.

1 Reply

Linode Staff

Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback. I can't promise any immediate changes, though we passed this along to our team for consideration with future changes to the Cloud Manager.

If you have anything else you'd like to share, we're all ears. Our Feedback form is always available.

Reply

Please enter an answer
Tips:

You can mention users to notify them: @username

You can use Markdown to format your question. For more examples see the Markdown Cheatsheet.

> I’m a blockquote.

I’m a blockquote.

[I'm a link] (https://www.google.com)

I'm a link

**I am bold** I am bold

*I am italicized* I am italicized

Community Code of Conduct